Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6,551 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Wow! I wanted to share this with all of you. Some of you might already do this, and that's cool. It's new to me, so I'm excited.

My fiancee and I went to the range yesterday. There was a guy there who is a sergeant is the (Army I think) practicing. While I was shooting my "regular" speed and stance and grip, I heard some rapid fire coming from 2 booths down from me. I glanced over at his target, and watched a piece of paper disappear from the center after each shot. 6 shots all done in about 4 seconds. I was like :shock: :!:

At the cease fire call, I asked who was in booth #4 doing rapid fire. He said it was him, and I asked how he could stay on target shooting that fast. He said he'd show me. And man, did he. I watched him demonstrate with his gun, and then he said for me to get ready and he'd come over and watch/show me. Well, I started shooting how I've been shooting (cup/saucer grip), isosceles triangle stance... I got a few low-left shots, and some at least near bulls-eye...

He had me hold my gun a lot differently, and moved my feet around into a modified isosceles stance, I leaned INTO the shot, bent my arms more, and focused on the front sight more. He had me pay attention to the trigger, and keep my finger "married to" the trigger, and feel the "click" and then squeeze again. I was shooting rapid fire now. And, while I'm still shooting some low-left, I got some good groups. And that was WITH rapid fire. This new method will work w/ slow more "aimed" fire as well.