Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm relatively new to XD's so forgive me if this is a dumb question. Are there any REAL concerns about keeping the gun loaded and cocked? Will it weaken the firing pin spring? I've heard (on other gun forums) that XD's have a problem with light primer strikes. If this is the case, I don't want to weaken the spring any further.

Thanks

·
Registered
2,323 Posts
When I carried it's was always loaded. I guess I had th same feeling as you and did not like to have it cocked all the time when I'm at home. So for me I carried it cocked, when I was at home, empty chamber, hammer down full mag in. That's just me. Now I just have a DAO revolver for carry and HD. It's all up to you dude.

·
Registered
6,595 Posts
Where did you read XD's had issues with light primer strikes?

The firing pins do have a tendancy to stick if you oil the channel or don't clean it every so often...but I have never heard of spring issues.

My XD stays cocked and locked unless I am shooting it. Never any problems

·
Registered
538 Posts
Cocked all the way. Springs don't lose tension by being in a static mode. It is the compression and expansion which will weaken metal over time.

·
Registered
595 Posts
my xdm stays cocked and locked. no fail to fires.

·
Banned
38,922 Posts
I've had one since early 2007, have put over 13,000 rounds through it, and it's basically always cocked.

As others have said,
It's nothing to be concerned about.

And I'll second what xdmp said about oiling the striker ... That's the one thing you want to avoid.
A light strike because of this is not a gun problem, it's an operator problem.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Thanks for all the replies. Carrying "cocked and locked" doesn't bother me. I'm very conscious and aware when handling my pistol. My main concern was spring tension.