Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay... I'll start at the beginning.

I'm fairly new to shooting again (20+ years since shooting) and I have an XD 4", which I've taken to the range about 4 times so far.

Well, I signed up for the Texas CHL class and took the 10 hour classroom and written test this past Saturday. Boring and long, but did learn some good stuff and gave me good things to think about. Passed the test easilly.

Today at 3pm was my proficiency (shooting) test. As such, I decided to go in at 11am and shoot a box of 100 to practice a bit. It was suggested to practice shooting both right and left handed (for real time potential need), so I thought this would be a good opportunity to do that.

A little history... I am a lefty, but learned to shoot right. My right hand grip is probably stronger in general, and also use a drill and screwdriver right handed as well. Up until today, I have been shooting right handed, but LEFT eyed.

So.. back to today at the range. I tried shooting left after about 50 rounds of shooting as I always have (right), and realized real quickly that I am a steadier and more accurate shot with my left hand.

Forward to my 3pm CHL shooting test... I decided to shoot left handed for the test. After about 10 shots, we switched to a timed 2-shot test. I happened to pickup the gun right handed (old habbit), and was in process of switching hands when the instructor yelled fire. At this point I have 3 seconds to take 2 shots.

Being in a hurry, I took my first shot, even though my right hand wasn't fully moved where it should be yet. As such, the slide cut open the side of my right thumb. I finished the rest of this section of the test bleeding. Afterwards, we stopped and I got a bandaid from the range, and finished the rest of the testing with no more issues. PASSED the shooting test no problem (and was more accurate then I was this morning, now using the left hand).