Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know there's quite a few of these threads on here, but that leads me to believe that you don't mind when a newbie shares her/his excitement that they've finally achieved their goal of concealed carry.

I'm new to guns, so did not want to carry until I felt very comfortable w/ my gun. I've got 1200+ rounds through it and it feels very much a part of me now, so yesterday I finally did it.

I planned on going to the range, but had a few errands to run before I could go. As I was packing up my range bag I thought to myself - why not start carrying today instead of packing up the gun - so that's what I did. I was very excited, not really nervous at all, but did find myself doing so many of the things all of you who are more experienced have indicated in other threads are common to new carriers: kept pulling the hem of my t-shirt down to make sure it didn't show, kept feeling for it to make sure it was still where I wanted it, kept looking down to see if it was noticable (although, in MN that doesn't matter so much since I can carry open or concealed). But, I don't think it was noticable at all. In fact, when I was leaving the house my husband asked if I was forgetting my gun (as I usually carry my gun bag separate from the bag I carry my ammo, ear & eye protection, cleaning stuff, etc.), and when I told him I was wearing it, he couldn't even tell when he was looking for it. Overall, I just felt proud of myself for finally taking the step and doing it. I do think, however, that I would feel more comfortable carrying a compact or sub-compact instead of my full size, so I guess it's time to go shopping! :D

·
Registered
152 Posts
Congrats. It's a great feeling to know you are protected and at the same time exercising my personal favorite Amendment!

What's your choice of weapon, may I ask?

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #3