Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
428 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
...No really.

My pastor asked me this evening, if I'd like to be a part of the Royal Rangers chapter he is opening at our church. Not as a student, but as a teacher. I'm a vet of OEF 2009-2010. And I'm working for the Sheriff's dept. in the county I currently live in. I'm not a noob...not in my mind at least. Lol.

He's asking me to do some firearms instructions...and I'm pretty comfortable there.

But he asked me to instruct in the construction of a fire. Here is where I'm curious. I can start a fire with a lighter...or matches...no biggy. And I'm comfortable starting a fire with flint and a knife...but hes asking me about doing it just sticks...and my first thought was to watch 'Castaway'. I understand how he did it. And I'll try this method. Hopefully it'll work, but I haven't given it a shot yet. I've also seen the drill method with the string on a stick (A), and another stick (B) in a loop in the string...you work the stick (A) back and forth to spin stick (B) in circles. it drills and creates friction.

So...my question is, what the heck did I get myself into?
:shock:

·
Registered
786 Posts
I worry about any church group that wants to have a para military arm. Please be sure of what your getting into

·
Registered
428 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm pretty sure he doesn't have any bad intent. Just teaching young boys firearms safety...similar to the boy scouts. Not like....teaching kids to storm a town or anything. Just handling/shooting skills.