Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
298 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Below is an email of advise I gave my friend who wanted to work on his speed. I'm new to IDPA but have been a long time Martial Artist. my question to you higher level Gamers...am I totally off in my advise (will my advise actually HURT my friends development)? I've only been to 2 IDPA events but I've been placing alot better than my 2 other friends that have more handgun (target pistol) experience.

"One thing that I forget to mention...in regards to speed. My martial arts training has help me on this greatly. But its not so much from physical speed, but from visual speed, seeing things faster. In Filipino Martial Arts the sticks and knives move very fast! Also, there are concepts we follow about being concerned about the moment. I'm still working on this of course, but applied to IDPA, once you aquire a target and send your bullets downrange, have the confidence that they WILL hit where you want them to and move on, if you try to verify your shots your living in the past. Many times I have no idea what I shot until we go to score it. There are also concepts of economy of motion in martial arts that directly cross over.

When I do my dry-fire drills I usually start out seeing what I'm going to shoot in sequence then without even drawing a gun or doing a site picture, I'll practice looking at them quickly in sequence until I get a good smooth and fast past. I then drawn and engage trying to keep my vision identification and pacing the same as before. If my body can't keep up with my vision, I'll slow it down a little. Its all timing...timing my physical activity with my vision (without interupting the flow of my vision, like stopping to verify).