Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,669 Posts
I'm not really a knife guy, so I'm curious what others think of the recommendations in this article.

How to Choose the Perfect Survival Knife: 6 Features to Look For | The Art of Manliness
Always interesting. I'm not a prepper. I'm not a knife expert. But on a practical basis, I will paraphrase some advice we often see on gun boards:

--The best knife is the one you have with you, not the one you left home.
--A knife is something I use for chopping/pounding/splitting until I have access to an axe.
--All tools break/fail/malfunction/get lost; have a spare and a backup plan.

Reactions: norb5150

·
Registered
7,157 Posts
From the viewpoint of a knife nut, that's a pretty well-written article, with reasonable advice and which does not belabor the point unnecessarily with technical jargon.

·
Premium Member
17,765 Posts
Good article. I have batoned with a folder, but it was tough due to limited blade length. Batoning is more about blade stoutness / thickness for me. It helps if the blade wedges the wood apart as you drive it down.

I like having a serrated edge for sawing but it’s not a deal-breaker.

·
Premium Member
3,822 Posts
I also am not a knife nut. Franky, edged and pointed weapons give me the willies. I just got and sharpened a nice K-Bar. Left hand USN sheaf since I'm left handed. Works for me.

·
Registered
5,759 Posts
This is my survival knife. It's an oldie, but a goodie.

These days, they're not cheap though. But this is one instance where you get your money worth out of it. You'd have to try really hard to tear it up. In fact, I'm not even real sure it's humanly possible.

The Buck-184 Buckmaster - The peak of survival knives!

·
Premium Member
3,822 Posts