Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
485 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to this, and I haven't even gotten my XD9 yet (on order from the custom shop:cool: ) But I'm pretty happy with my progress. I want to get good enough to participate in my ranges informal IDPA style shoot that they do once a week. Right now, after 2 months shooting, I'm working on speed so I can hit double taps, and I'm going to start working on coming out of the holster and reloads. The guy who I've been shooting with uses an XD9 for the shoots, but has been letting me use it on our practice shoots on Sundays. He decided he needed more time practicing with it, so I've been using his Kimber Ultra CDPII. Nice gun, and I shoot it well. Was shooting 1.5"-2" groups of five in about 2 seconds at 25 ft. I was very happy. We usually shoot between 150 and 200 rounds a week on Sunday, though I've been shooting a little less (100 rd this week) since I've been using the .45 Too much $$;-)
How much do you guys shoot, and what do you work on??

·
Registered
512 Posts
I'll go through 100-200 rounds depending on what kind of mood I'm in, and I work on accuracy & speed combined. I have a video that talks about "combat accuracy" and explains that you need to be accurate, but only to a point where you're getting the hits where they should be. If you're shooting 1" groups at 5 yards (which is usually about where I stand as I figure if I'm shooting at someone that's about where they'll be), you can probably shoot faster, even if you're groups open up. If you're shooting real fast but not getting accurate hits, you need to slow down. It's a fine line.

·
Registered
485 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Do you get to practice coming out of the holster? I know many places don't allow it.

·
Registered
857 Posts