Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 137 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A concealed license permit to carry is 10 minutes of inconvenience out of your day in Washington state..
So of coarse, i carry, A Utah permit is being offered at my local sportsman warehouse for $75.00.. and Im signed up for that in december.. how many carry in their own state?.. and how many carry a Utah permit? just curious.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
134 Posts
10 minutes of inconvenience? Here in Florida, it's a 3-hour (sometimes longer) class, fingerprints, passport picture, $117 (+ course fee - mine was $60), and at least a 90-day wait. You've gotta EARN a carry permit in Fla.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
127,757 Posts
12 hours of state mandated instruction, 10 in the classroom 2 on the range here in Ohio
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
61 Posts
Texas = 10 hours of class/shooting, finger prints, passport photo ... $90 - 120
Then $140 to the state, up averages 4-5 months (these days) to get it in your hands. I'm in (CHL class) on the 6th of December. Permit is for 4 years, refresher for another 4 after that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
246 Posts
Ive been carrying for about a year now. In KS its an 8 hour training class, $150 between the sheriffs office/attorney general, and a 2-3 month wait.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
254 Posts
TN: 8 hr class/shoot (50-100 bucks)
State Application: 115 for 4 years.
40-100 day wait for permit.

I carry daily.

- OS
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
463 Posts
I carry everyday here in Washington State that I dont go to school. I attend WSU Vancouver so I can't carry on university property unlike Utah. I am a supporter of Students for Concealed Carry on Campus, for those of you that agree that you can't stop school shootings with gun free-zones please support them.

Since I live on the border of Oregon and Washington I am trying to get an Oregon permit as well. Oregon requires you to take a class to get your permit, which I have done. Any Oregon Sheriff can issue an out of state permit to a bordering state resident. Most Sheriffs will not do it though, and most that do are border counties that require that you live in a county that borders theirs.

While I am apposed to most every form of gun control, I do think that the class that you are required to take in Oregon should be required in all states for a concealed carry permit. This course teaches invaluable information about carry laws, and when it is and is not legal to use lethal force.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,064 Posts
$150 for the one day class
$150 for the license
38 day wait for me
I carry almost all the time except to my kids school.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
190 Posts
I do think (and i may be wrong) washington state even thought it is very liberal, is still is one of the easier and faster process to get a permit. Utah permits are better to have and i know that the firearms academy of seattle (FAS) offers a class for 85. for a 4 hour class, but you get a Utah permit good in 33 states. I have had my washington license for a very long time, but the next 85. i have with nothing to do with it, I will be making a date with them.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
61 Posts
While I am apposed to most every form of gun control, I do think that the class that you are required to take in Oregon should be required in all states for a concealed carry permit. This course teaches invaluable information about carry laws, and when it is and is not legal to use lethal force.
Uh.. it's my understanding that's what's taught in most classes?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
I am licensed in Texas and carry more every day, but still not all the time.
Excuse my ignorance, but what is the deal with the Utah permit good in 33 states. Does this mean I could get a Utah permit eventhough I am a Texas resident and then be legal in states that do not reciprocate with Texas?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
[LEFT said:
gunnewb[/left];1466870]
While I am apposed to most every form of gun control, I do think that the class that you are required to take in Oregon should be required in all states for a concealed carry permit. This course teaches invaluable information about carry laws, and when it is and is not legal to use lethal force.

I agree that a class of some sort should be taught in the legal use of use of lethal force. However, it is my opinion that it is up to the individual to learn handgun safety. At some point a person who makes the conscious decision to carry simultaneously should be making the conscious decision to learn what they are carrying, with that, training should be
accessible
, often and easy to obtain, much like the renewal of ones car tabs.
 
1 - 20 of 137 Posts
Top