Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
1,027 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a sr1911 with about 400rds in it. I'd like to lighten the trigger a bit. I know there are videos on how to do it but not sure if I could really screw it up.

I've never done any polishing/sanding like that, but I'm also not a complete newb to mechanical things. Just a newb to gunsmithing.

So would it be better to just pay somebody to do it, or do it myself?

I also have a couple of 10/22's I want to do a trigger job on and mod them as well.

Some tips on how to do it, like do I need a jig, what to use to polish/sand em?

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
2,735 Posts
The biggest mistake made with a diy 1911 trigger job is screwing up the sear/hammer engagement, which can lead to serious safety issues. It would be best just to polish the contact surfaces and adjust the sear spring tension. Some good info on adjusting the sear spring can be found in the link provided, though if you make any modifications to the sear and disconnector, it's at your own risk.

http://www.brownells.com/userdocs/learn/bt002005.pdf

·
Registered
18,867 Posts
I've done lots of trigger jobs on XDM's, SRT triggers in P series Sigs, complete polish jobs on Ruger revolvers, new springs on SW revolvers, but I don't mess with my 1911's. I've heard too many horror stories of bubba gunsmith jobs going bad. I would consider something as simple as new springs in a 1911 but that's where I'd stop.

Just my 2 cents.

·
Premium Member
2,735 Posts
I've done lots of trigger jobs on XDM's, SRT triggers in P series Sigs, complete polish jobs on Ruger revolvers, new springs on SW revolvers, but I don't mess with my 1911's. I've heard too many horror stories of bubba gunsmith jobs going bad. I would consider something as simple as new springs in a 1911 but that's where I'd stop.

Just my 2 cents.
Nothing like over confidence combined with a bit of ignorance and a file to turn a 1911 into a full auto monster.

·