Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

I stumbled onto this sight a few months ago while beginning my search for a new handgun. All of your posts were the diciding factor to end my quest with the purchase of an XD-9 Sub. I've done as much reading on these posts as my eyes can take but still have a few questions. Please pardon if they have already been answered in other posts...

1. Has a consensus been reached on the promag 32rd magazines? Are they worth the $40 or is the purchase of a few 40cal mags a better choice for higher cap.?

2. Being a poor college student, I was not able to purchase my XD brand new, therefore i didn't have the option of the stainless slide, SOOOO.... is it worth the effort for DIY DuraCoat or should I just send it back to SA or should i have a 3rd party do it? (figuring in labor and $$$$$)

3. Off topic, but do any of you own or have experience with a Walther P99? I love how they look (really pretty like the XDs) but have yet to hold or shoot one. I'm thinking it may be my next investment.

Any input would be helpful and appreciated. Also, anyone around the austin/san antonio area looking for someone to shoot with give me a buzz.

Peace out

·
Registered
5 Posts
I have owned and shot a 9mm P99. I liked it but ended up selling it to purchase something else. It was accurate but just a little quirky for my job. Mainly the hammer drop and partial cock by pulling back the slide a bit. I think the P99 is being replaced. I have looked at the P990L and almost bought one but picked up the new Kimber Tactical Pro II 9mm instead.

My .02 cents on gun finish is get what you like. It’s your gun and some finishes are more durable then others but it really comes down to what you like. I’m going to be sending my XD9 service in for a chrome slide finish.

·
Registered
427 Posts