Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
177 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Alrighty. Objective one accomplished (acquired a lower). I'm learning to cope with the anxiety of having so many choices to make, and I think I'm ready to start ordering some parts. Time to design a rifle!

First off, I love all things AR. I've never seen an AR I didn't want to own. So, I can go in a lot of directions with this. I'm pretty open to ideas here.

I have a few personal objectives with this rifle. It will be only my second rifle. My first being a 10/22 that lives at my parent's house. Everything I've learned about guns has been self taught. With this rifle, I really want to improve my skills as a marksman, with scopes and iron sights both.

I love tacti-cool rifles, I really do, but I really have absolutely no need for a completely urban-combat rifle. I have an XD45 (awesome guns, those XDs... ya'll should check em out ;) ) for home defense. I think a bone stock M4 is beautiful, rails and accessories are badass too, but I think for this build I'm going to try to go with a longer gas system (probably the middle one, possibly the longest), as from what I'm reading, that's a big factor in accuracy.

Cost is definitely a factor here as well. I don't want to spend a lot of money on a show rifle. I want to put thousands of rounds through this rifle. I want to be able to be on the range and not worry about a scratch or scuff on the finish. This rifle will see no duty or home defense use, so I'm OK with components that aren't the top of the line. When I'm rich, I'll build or buy a top-of-the-line AR, but for now, I want something I can have fun with.