Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Bushmaster, factory build gun. Until today, I have only fired .22LR through it with a CMMG conversion kit. It has cycled the 22LR flawlessly with a 50rd. Black Dog mag attached pulling the trigger as fast as I can.
I was able to take it to an outdoor range today, so I brought some .223 ammo. I put 50 rds. downrange, and had to manually cyle it every time. It never ejected a spent casing. When I pulled back the charging handle it was smooth and would eject the casing and load a new cartridge. But it would not do it on its own. I dropped in the 22 kit afterwards, and it worked flawlessly 150 rds.
The gas key is tight and lines up with the gas tube, the ejector pin moves freely back and forth and spring feels tight, nothing gummed up in there. The gas rings were not aligned at polar opposite, but far enough that the openings weren't all in a line. The gas tube and block are factory, and have never been replaced. I clean the gun thoroughly after shooting every time, and even though I have not used the .223 until today, I disassembled, and lubed the bolt assembly, and keep it stored in a ziploc with some CLP sprayed in it.
There is obviously enough gas getting through to cycle the 22LR conversion, but that spring is pretty weak. Could I have a misaligned gas block, or partially blocked tube? I am an AR newbie, so I might be way off. Has anybody else had this same experience, or the know how to diagnose my problem. Please, No Bushmaster bashing. I know its not a Colt. I would just like to hear from somebody who has had this problem, or can diagnose it.

Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks to all for your time.

·
Registered
838 Posts
Your gas tube or gas port is probably fouled/plugged from shooting
the 22 kit.
+1 happened to a friend. Another reason for a dedicated, 22LR upper.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5