Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone on XDTalk. I'm about to buy an XD9 (Service model I think its called - the one with the 4" barrel) from a LE friend and all round good guy. He also has the SC version which he likes better and will sell me his XD9. He says he's put 500 to 600 rounds though it. I'm a newbie to hand guns and these XD9 Springfields are supposed to be great guns at a reasonable price. I haven't been out shooting with it yet but it feels good in my hands. I'll sign up for a class or two soon to learn basics and get my CHL soon.

I look forward to many visits to XDTalk!

Dave

·
Registered
11,292 Posts
Welcome Dave from Farmersville Texas. You'll really like your XD. It shoots where ya point it, and is built like a tank. Your LE buddy has just got it broken in good for ya....enjoy. Give us a range report with pics...or some will say...."Didn't happen" LOL!!

Also make sure that you subscribe to the XD Talk of Texas, XDTalk Forums - Your XD/XD(m) Information Source! - XD Talk of Texas scroll down to where you find "Group Tools" on the right and subscribe. I like to keep up with my homies. And if your close could get together for group range invitations.

Look forward to seeing ya around!

·
Premium Member
24,701 Posts
hello there

·
Premium Member
3,448 Posts
Dave

Welcome to the forum from Colorado

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Thanks for the many welcomes from ya! I know that a couple of the first things I will need are:
1) Purchase 9mm ammo --- any advice on brands to buy? any advice on brands to stay away from? other advice?

2) Ear protection -- where and what to buy at a reasonable price?

3) Eye protection -- where and what to buy at a reasonable price? I have glasses that I use for distance on a daily basis. Can I wear my prescription glasses (regular glasses and sunglasses) when shooting? Or is this inadvisable?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Dave

·