Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just a quick hello from a Canadian newbie! I dont own anything from Springfield yet,hoping to purchase a new XDm40 bitone,whenever they decide to produce 10rd magazines!

Take care

·
Premium Member
127,080 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

·
Premium Member
226 Posts
Welcome from NC!

·
Registered
7,827 Posts
Welcome to the forum. At some point, post a new thread explaining your gun laws there. They may turn out to better than ours...

·
Premium Member
2,297 Posts
Welcome neighbor!

·
Premium Member
571 Posts
Hey Mate! ;)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Welcome to the forum. At some point, post a new thread explaining your gun laws there. They may turn out to better than ours...
Well I'm new to handguns,so I can give you a overview of what is required to get started.
The first thing that we are all required to do is to take a general firearms safety course called a P.A.L, this covers long guns 420mm or over,this took 3 evenings and included a written and practical tests,the fee for this course was $120.00.
Once you pass your PAL your are required to take a RPAL safety course that covers handuns,this course is 2 evenings and had 2 tests also,the fee was $80.00.Handguns are classified as restricted firearms and you can ONLY possess them for sport target shooting or as a collector! We cannot not carry or use for self defence generally.There is a great deal of paperwork and a very thorough background check once you have passed all the courses ,this takes about 45 days as there is a waiting period.
Ok so now you have your licences,you can now make a purchase,but you then need another permit to transfer the handgun from the seller to your dwelling,this can take a day to about 3 weeks for that permit,now you take it home and lock it up!