Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
1,742 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Friend had a small accident today...
7mm 08 loaded with Titegroup not Varget...NEVER have 2 powders on your bench at the same time!!!!!!

The gun...Savage 16/116 FLCSS 7mm-08 stainless

His hand....

·
Registered
2,371 Posts
Ouch...

·
Premium Member
11,243 Posts
This could've been much worse. I hope the damage to his finger isn't permanent, but his pride's going to suffer a bit.

·
Premium Member
4,647 Posts
Holy cow!

I wish your friend a speedy recovery!

I am no expert, but I don't see any salvageable parts in that pic.

I do not reload, and I will not reload until I learn enough to be confident in what I am doing

Best wishes!

·
Premium Member
4,437 Posts
Not sure id call that a "small" failure. a small failure is putting a primer in backwards or something to that nature (it happens). That looks more along the lines of catastrophic failure. Glad he is for the most part in one piece. The rifle on the other hand looks like a total loss.

If the the gun isnt a total loss . I might be interested in a few parts.. ie trigger, floor plate and housing along with the bolt handle.

·
Registered
1,742 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
the issue is TG is a hot, fast light-loading pistol powder...not exactly what you want to put in a rifle and certainly not in large quantities.
A load in varget might be 45 grains...a typical 9mm load of TG is 4gr...

All the books rec keeping your powders on a far wall or such so you have to really work at having the right one on the bench.

Talked to a guy that blew up an XDm, double charge. Didn't toss metal anyplace but the slide was twice as wide as it should be.

·
Registered
12,197 Posts