Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was in the market for a Press for fathers day I wanted something I can mass produce rounds with instead of my single stage press... and low in behold a Buddy of mine I buy my pojectiles from had a friend selling a set up. 120.00 I was on my way out the door. only problem was I needed a shell disk for 9mm and 40 the other good thing is that it came with a 243 shell disk. So a quick order at midway since no other stores seemed to have the 2 and ordered my 243 dies also set of 3 for 25.99 all in all this set up cost me. 180.00 with Dies for the 243....

savings will be in my first set of 9mm 2000 rounds I should have this set up about paid for. using my rough figures.

·
Registered
6,680 Posts
You sure the Pro 1000 will load .243 ammo? I believe you'll find that it won't. :shock:

·
Registered
121 Posts
I've been using the Pro 1000 for about 8 months. It's a good unit and for the price it's pretty tough to top. I know that I will not be loading any rifle amo with it though. The auto charger(powder) isn't that consistant, and trying to dump 48 gr of say 4831 through a 6mm hole all at once will plug up then dump powder all over, which will plug the primer feed system which already has some isues of it's own. I use mine for .380,9mm, 38sp. and 45acp and it works good once you get the little tricks figured out to keep the primers feeding. Also, the charge disc chart that comes with the powder thrower seems to be about a 1/2 gr low, so make sure you get it set up using scales. Then have a light shining on the third stage so you can look into the case and see how much powder is in it and check the ones that don't look right on your scales.