Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm pretty new to handloading and am nearing a point where I have a good recipe and want to crank out a bunch. What is the shelf life on pistol rounds and rifle rounds that are hand loaded? What if I seal the primer?

·
Registered
12,197 Posts
A loaded cartridge is pretty moisture proof. There is no reason to believe they wil lnot last the same as factory ammo if stored in a cool dry place like an ammo can. I have primers from 1990 that I am still loading with & ammo further back than that I am still shooting.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's great. Did you ever find a need to seal the primer pocket or is that mainly useful for waterfowling with shotshell reloads?

·
Registered
12,197 Posts
That's great. Did you ever find a need to seal the primer pocket or is that mainly useful for waterfowling with shotshell reloads?
Unless there is a chance that ammo will be submerged in water, no real need to seal anything. No moisture is getting past the press fir of a primer or bullet, at least that is ME.

·
Registered
567 Posts
Properly assembled handloads stored in ammo cans with good seals will likely last several lifetimes.

·
Registered
1,530 Posts
My father reloaded alot of 30-06 rounds between 1972-76 i still have about about 100 of these to use. Only one bad primer so far. So reloads can last a long time.

·
Registered
691 Posts
2 weeks ago my son and I fired off about 60 rounds of .44 and .44mag my father had reloaded in '74. Then went on to go thru 20 rounds of .35 Remington that were reloaded in the same timeframe. They all shot like they did 35 + years ago. I remember we only used CCI primers, can't remember the powder, and I remember casting the .44 bullets in garage.

·
Banned
1,790 Posts