Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
212 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just picked up a used 1911 and everything is great besides one thing. Now I'm new to the world of the 1911 so this could just be a flaw of the 1911 and not this firearm.

When I cock the hammer back fast (all the way down) and press hard. It seems to flick back up and goes to the half cocked position. I don't have to do it fast, I slowly cock the hammer back, and flick my thumb off with a little force and again it will go half cocked. Now this gun passes all the safty checks for 1911s with no issue. And when slowly cocking the hammer back, or just following through with your thumb the hammer stays cocked like it should.

Have fully broken down the weapon fully a few times to make sure nothing slipped and everything is okay.

Is this normal? Just don't cock the hammer too fast? Or is there something wrong?

I have not shot this weapon yet, going tomorrow.

·
Registered
4,350 Posts
I just picked up a used 1911 and everything is great besides one thing. Now I'm new to the world of the 1911 so this could just be a flaw of the 1911 and not this firearm.

When I cock the hammer back fast (all the way down) and press hard. It seems to flick back up and goes to the half cocked position. I don't have to do it fast, I slowly cock the hammer back, and flick my thumb off with a little force and again it will go half cocked. Now this gun passes all the safty checks for 1911s with no issue. And when slowly cocking the hammer back, or just following through with your thumb the hammer stays cocked like it should.

Have fully broken down the weapon fully a few times to make sure nothing slipped and everything is okay.

#1. Why the hell are you thumb cocking a single action auto? It is ment to be cocked by the slide when you chamber a round and the safety is then engaged, please dont tell me you are one of those folks that chambers a round and lowers the hammer to half cock.