Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have wanted to polish my XD for awhile. All I used was the polishing bits and the 421 compound it came with. My pics suck because its only a cam phone but the parts came out looking like a mirror. The finish on the barrel and locking block just melt right off. My XD's see pretty tough abuse, the 45 GAP stays in the case and the Sub 40 stays on the nightstand :D So I'm not worried about rust. Plus, I keep em coated with CLP 8)

On the stainless 45 GAP I polished the barrel, locking block, slide stop and dissassembly lever. And the 40 Sub, I polished the barrel and am getting ready to polish the locking block. I'm not a dremel expert so if I can do it, anyone can. I found the using an up and down motion and then side to side works really well. Wipe off the black stuff and put on more compound. The polished barrel looks sick on the stainless. As for the slide lock, I left it on the pistol. I put a piece of thin cardboard under it and polished away. I did take the takedown lever off though. Hope that helps anyone.

·
Registered
1,086 Posts
I was bored so I grabbed my Dremel and the XD.. :lol:

Thats never a good statement to read. Asthetically pleasing, but your just asking for rust. I'm just not partial to shiny guns but forgive me if I use this cliche`, to each his own. Be sure to give it a good coat of oil or rather, give it a good layer of Armadillo or car wax.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Bet a hundred bucks I can take a pic 1 year from today and I will have zero rust. 8) My XD's go to the range, come home and are cleaned.

Plus, as easy as the coating comes off when shooting, its not like its some sort of super coating anyway. The barrel looks good with the stainless GAP and the black coating on the barrel of the sub was coming off after 200 rounds. I just though it might look better with all the coating off rather than half of it off and half on. :wink: