Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a programmer by trade, and got a crazy idea this morning. I have been toying with the notion of Duracoating my guns in camouflage, and was visiting various web sites looking at the astounding array of colors available. Yeah, they have various patterns and color combinations, but I was looking for something that more closely matched my own geographic area. failing to find anything resembling "Texas hill country", I had a flash of an idea.

Why not create a program that lets the user take pictures of his surroundings, and then evaluates those pictures to find a set of matching Duracoat colors that would best suit a camo paint scheme for the area. Well, I've worked on it all day, and am pretty far along. Here's a screen shot:

The idea is to allow you to load a picture, determine a color section (from 1 to 16 matching Duracoat colors), create a random camo pattern (digital, woodland, tiger stripe), and then create an image of the selected weapon to overlay on the picture you loaded (hopefully to scale).

What do you guys think?

Oh yeah - it will be a completely free application.

·
Registered
433 Posts
I think its a great idea

·
Registered
1,466 Posts
Very cool idea!

About camo guns and knives, I would always be worried I would put it down or drop it and never find it again...

Is there a real duracoat camo project coming out of this?

·
Registered
106 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Very cool idea!

About camo guns and knives, I would always be worried I would put it down or drop it and never find it again...

Is there a real duracoat camo project coming out of this?
I don't understand what you mean by a real project. If you mean to ask if I'm going to paint my guns based on the output from this app, then the answer is yes.

·
Banned
1,790 Posts
thats pretty cool.