Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
3,386 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just ordered Troy Battle Sights for the front and the rear. So I'm going to need to get a gas block. I just don't have any idea which one to get. I'm a noob when it comes to ARs. I was looking at the PRI but don't know what's good and what's not. What would work the best? This is my set-up as of right now ... So any help would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
3,386 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It's these sights so it'll be mounted on the hand guard.

·
Banned
1,082 Posts
Is the front sight going to be mounted on the gas block or handguard?
That's what I was about to ask. If the front sight is to be mounted on the GB, then you need to get a GB that has a rail adapter that is the same height as your handguard rails.

Another option you could have done is buy a nine inch rail, with a low profile gas block and have the rail go past the gas block and then your troy front sight will be the needed height to properly sight in.

·
Banned
1,082 Posts
It's these sights so it'll be mounted on the hand guard.

Personally, I would've just bought the rear sight and kept the FSB. Unless you are planning on putting a magnified scope... Actually even with a magnified scope, the FSB will more than likely not be in the way of your f.o.v. You could've saved yourself about 200 bucks by just buying the rear sight and sticking with the FSB. But, it's your gear, you do as you please. Just giving ya my opinion.

·
Registered
5,617 Posts
That's what I was about to ask. If the front sight is to be mounted on the GB, then you need to get a GB that has a rail adapter that is the same height as your handguard rails.

Another option you could have done is buy a nine inch rail, with a low profile gas block and have the rail go past the gas block and then your troy front sight will be the needed height to properly sight in.