Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am trying to switch out the low profile gas block that came on my DPMS Oracle with a standard A2 FSB. I don't see how to get the A2 to attach, the barrel has two indentations for the set screws on the low profile and the A2 attaches with the two pins. Is this sight incompatible with this barrel? Do I need to drill out the sides of one of the indentations to allow the pin to slide through? I'm completely new to the AR world, any input would be appreciated. I have proved pictures below.

Barrel

Old gas block

New gas block

·
Registered
793 Posts
Well, I'm not nearly educated enough about this particular issue. With that stated, what I would do is put the old block back on, return the new one and get a flip up one from Troy or something similar. That just seems the easiest solution to me.

·
Registered
4,435 Posts
I am trying to switch out the low profile gas block that came on my DPMS Oracle with a standard A2 FSB. I don't see how to get the A2 to attach, the barrel has two indentations for the set screws on the low profile and the A2 attaches with the two pins. Is this sight incompatible with this barrel? Do I need to drill out the sides of one of the indentations to allow the pin to slide through? I'm completely new to the AR world, any input would be appreciated. I have proved pictures below.

Barrel

Old gas block

New gas block
It looks like your barrel is designed to use only the gas block that came with the rifle.

The barrel that uses your new gas block would have slots in the barrel for the pins.

don

·
Registered
957 Posts
If you are determined to DIY I would order something like this
A2 GUN CLAMP-ON SIGHT KIT

I've used this particular sight in similar situation and it works fine, best bet have a competent gunsmith attach your standard sight. Best of luck

·
Registered
747 Posts