Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
1,567 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was wondering if any of you fine folks here in XD land have any gardens, small or large, raised or not. What are you growing? Right now I have tomatoes, peppers, and basil going. this is my first attempt at growing any food so i'm expecting disaster but its a start.

·
Registered
221 Posts
I've actually got one going... first attempt, but everything is growing like weeds...

Sweet Basil, Tomatoes, Cherry Tomatoes, Grape Tomatoes, Parsley, Cayenne Peppers, Bell peppers, strawberries, Green Onions and a lemon tree....

I never pictured my self doing anything like this.. but it's so damn rewarding whenever I can just go outside and get what I need to cook/eat.

·
Registered
7,507 Posts
We're waiting to start the backyard veg garden. Still under threat of freeze / frost at night. Supposed to hit 34-36 tonight infact.

On a plot of land there is a 3.5 acre food plot that has been limed, tilled and planted for deer. I keep it limed in case a need for a higher quantity of food is ever needed

·
Registered
19,987 Posts
I just planted a small orchard, a couple grape vines and some berry bushes.

My dad takes gardening to the next level. Getting ready to fence in a 2nd Acre with deer height fencing.....over 10' :shock:

·
Registered
4,401 Posts
I have the heirloom seeds but might be another year beofre I have a house with a yard to plant. I can't wait to start. There are some good permaculture tips at www.thesurvivalpodcast.com if you search back episodes.

·
Registered
532 Posts
We do a garden every year, about 24 tomato plants, 45. feet of okra, 30 feet of bush beans, 4 brussels sprouts, 6 pepper plants, several mounds of zucchini, 15 feet of swiss chard, 12 young raspberry bushes (just separated them this year), and we grow spinaich, lettuce, dill, parsley, oregano, basil and rosemary is our raised flower beds.