Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,

I am pretty new to hand guns and this Charles Daly DDA 10-40/45 is my first one. This is the compact 3 5/8" barrel. I really like the look and feel of this gun but I am having some prolems with it. I took it out the other day to put a couple magazines through it and I consistantly had FTF and a few FTE. For some reason I would pull a round off and the slide would lock back prematurely almost every time. Then I would have to press the slide lock down to drop the slide again and pull another round and there it goes again locking up. I used many different ammunition including WWB ball and HP, Hornady critical defense, Hydra-shok, and cheap fedral ball. Could anybody help me figure out how to fix this problem? When I came back from shooting I broke it down and cleaned it up really nice so im hoping it doesnt rain tomorrow so I can take it out again and tinker with it. I need to figure out WTH is wrong with this thing so I can trust it to save my life if I ever have to. And I cant really afford a new gun for awhile so that isnt really a option for me right now.:cry: Thank you! Not to mention this gun isnt exactly the most popular gun by any means and CD went out of bussiness so finding good info and parts is a pain in the butt! Im also looking for extra 10 round mags that I cant seem to find anywhere. Numrich is about the only place that still has CD parts but they are always sold out of the mags.

·
Registered
371 Posts
Charles Daily stamped thier name on alot of stuff, some good, some not so good. Can you get us a pic? I am seeing a 1911 in my head, but want to be sure before I give advise.

·
Registered
14,586 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4