Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm on my second XD-9 - First was OD frame, black slide. Sold it because I was concerned about the reported rust issues :roll: Probably people who had never owned a blued gun... Anyway, replaced it with stainless slide, black frame. With the first I had a failure to extract within the first 150 rounds. Then went 300 more with no problem before I sold it. The second has about 120 rounds and had one failure to extract in the first 50. First gun's FTE was with UMC yellow box, second gun's was with Win. white box. I've been shooting for 20+ years, and wasn't limp wristing. Do XD-9s typically require a break in? Do they work better with hotter ammo (recoil spring heavy)?

Oh, and DigMe - whenever I read your posts I'm mesmerized by Ashlee Simpson's very strange dancing...

·
Registered
270 Posts
I have had my XD40 for a few weeks. I have shot it three times. First time 150 rounds(American Eagle ammo), no problems. Second time 50 rounds, 3 FTFs (UMC yellow box). Tried again today, 150 rounds (one box was UMC yellow box 165gr, the other two American Eagle), no problems.

I would not give up on it yet. You might want to try some different recoil springs and see how that works for you.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Not ready to give up, just want to know what to expect until broken in. My guess is that the recoil spring is a little heavy for light loads, although I tried limp wristing and couldn't duplicate the FTE. I do know that most manufacurers say to allow for a certain break in period, I'm just too lazy to look it up right now.

·
Registered
85 Posts