Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
467 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Finally got to the range tonight. Among other things, I wanted to see how the new rubber grip decals felt in use. They felt good, I think I like them.

Unfortunately, my XD40 found some stuff it didn't like:

1) Remington UMC 180 gr JHP
2) Ultramax 180 gr FMJ

Now, I'm new to this shooting thing, and up to tonight, had put about 500 rounds (mainly WWB, but one or two 50 rd boxes of other stuff but don't remember what it was) with no problems. Well, OK, my first day there was one or two but I think it may have been me limp wristing. (Damn, I hate to say that! :lol: )

Well, I had a couple FTF on the UMC, and a couple where I squeezed the trigger, but nothing. There was a nice dimple on the primer, but nothing, so I don't know if the ammo had bad primers or what the deal was.

Anyhow, when I finished I was about to go home, deciding I'd come back later with some WWB 165 gr that I'd never had any problems with. Instead, I bought a box of Ultramax at the range. Holy ****! I bet 15 rounds wouldn't chamber! It was a freakin' nightmare. Had this been my first time out, I'd have sworn the gun was a POS.

But, since all my other experiences to date had been nothing but positive, I'm sure it's the ammo I was shooting tonight. I'll go back in a week or so with some WWB and make sure the gun is as good as I know it is, then it will be time to start my search for some Personal Defense ammo.

The only thing different tonight was 180 gr vs the 165 I'd shot in the past. Using Don's Guide Rod with a 22# spring. That combo has worked fine in the past. Don't know if tonight was the 180 gr or just the ammo.

Oh yeah, I was fairly pleased with my shooting, when I was shooting. Still have some practicing and will take lessons soon too.

·
Registered
35 Posts