Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anybody have/had a flush hammer on a 1911? I searched and there was not that many pics of the back at a good angle. Anyway, any pros/cons about it? I like the look, I'll have to try it out.

·
Registered
11,060 Posts
Unless it's a DA/SA 1911 you would not want a flush hammer.

Single action guns need to be cocked before the first shot. The only possible way to make a flush hammer work with a single action gun would be to carry with the chamber empty and do an Israeli Draw.

·
Registered
7,623 Posts
Para makes a 1911 with a flush hammer....but as mentioned, it's DA. They claim it is a super light, super smooth double but I have no experience with it.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Only if theres one in the pipe right? So I would have to rack the slide before a shot? It wouldn't be for carrying, just range and possibly defense.

·
Registered
11,060 Posts
Only if theres one in the pipe right? So I would have to rack the slide before a shot? It wouldn't be for carrying, just range and possibly defense.
If you have a round in the chamber of a single action 1911, you need to cock the hammer before you fire. If you have a round in the chamber of a single action 1911 and have a flush hammer you would need to rack the slide and eject the round in the chamber (chambering a new round in the process) before firing.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Ok thanks. I might try it out with an extra hammer and keep my original (I'll try to get some pics up too if it works out)

·
Premium Member
526 Posts
maybe i am missing something there. if you have one in the pipe, the hammer would be back. if it is not...if it was lowered on the loaded chamber(which would be very hard to do with a flush hammer without a discharge), wouldnt that be very unsafe? If I recall, the safety will not engage on a 1911 with the hammer down.

·
Registered
181 Posts