Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In a few days I'll be traveling from FL to CO by air and, from what I've read CO recognizes FL CCW licenses - but since it's my first time flying with a gun, I would like to get some advice from the members here on how to go about it so that things go as smoothly as possible.

A couple questions that immediately come to mind: I have several plastic hardshell cases, but don't know what the airline or TSA considers an appropriate lock -- can I use a cable lock, running it through both holes in, for example an XDm box? or am I better off with a non-cable, standard locker lock?

Also, how do I transport the ammunition? (does it go in my luggage or in my gun case?)

My GF, who works for an airline has told me that her airline requires that the ammo has to be in a brand new, unopened retail box, which seems a bit ridiculous to me. (If I am flying with a pistol, my intent is to have it loaded at some point at my destination -- by most standards of logic -- if my primary use is for self-defense, then -- by that same logic and based on statistics -- I would more than likely be returning without incident and hence, the exact same amount of ammo only now in an opened retail box -- is a 'sealed box' her meaning? (i.e., taped up, etc.)

ANY help, thoughts, insights or experience GREATLY appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
64 Posts
I have several plastic hardshell cases, but don't know what the airline or TSA considers an appropriate lock -- can I use a cable lock, running it through both holes in, for example an XDm box? or am I better off with a non-cable, standard locker lock?

Also, how do I transport the ammunition? (does it go in my luggage or in my gun case?)
Check out the TSA guidelines: TSA: Traveling with Special Items