Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy all, I'm new to the world of firearms. My XD-9 Service finally comes off of the 11 day waiting period in a week.

The question I have for all and sundry is thus: How long (in years or rounds) should I expect a gun to last? I'm sure that like any other mechanical thing, wear will eventually take it's toll, and the gun will decline into uselessness. My question is when? If I'm putting 10k through the thing every year, should I expect it to last two years? Five? Ten? Until my daughter hands it down to her kids?

·
Registered
95 Posts
That's a good question. I wish ToddG from Pistol Training would put one to the test like he has done with the M&P, HK45, HKP30 and most recently he's doing with the Glock gen4.

pistol-training.com » Range Reports

I know someone did a Torture Test a few years ago and if I remember correctly he put 20,000 rounds through one regular XD. I think the info was removed cause I can't find it anymore.

·
Registered
463 Posts
well it depends on the ammo you shoot, how you shoot it and how often you clean it.

if you shoot "hot" loads(rounds with extra powder to make them hit faster and harder) you can expect it to wear out much quicker than with standard store bought ammo. your springs will wear out and even stand the chance of damaging the chamber and magazine.

if you are shooting entire magazines inside of 10 seconds and doing it in rapid succession (for instance, blowing through 100 rounds of ammo in 5 minutes) you will be forcing your gun to operate under the additional stress of extreme heat (heat makes metal expand and become more maliable), you'll mess up the rifling in your barrel(decreasing accuracy), damage your chamber (increasing your chance of a KaBoom moment), damage firing pins, wearing out springs etc.