Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been posting here for a few months now. I guess it's about time I posted a note here.

I'm living out my second childhood and exploring my gun fetish. I've loved guns all my life, but didn't have time for them until now. Just retired as of the end of last year and I'm making up for lost time.

I bought the XDm 45 as an impulse buy a few months ago. It was my first semi-auto. I intended it for the range and that's still where I use it. You can see from my signature what I've done to it. Even though it was spur of the moment decision to buy that gun, I couldn't have made a better choice. I've done a lot of shooting these last several months and have rented various other models. Every time I shoot something else, I feel better about my snap decision on the XDm 45. It's a fantastic gun.

I used to be in LE many years ago and got my CCW a while back. I made up for the research I didn't do with the XDm 45 with a carry gun. I researched about 20 models, then narrowed it down to three: XDm 9mm 3.8" Compact, M&P 9c and the SR9c. After a little more rental at the range time, the choice was clear. Hence, my new XDm 9c. I had my XDm 45 Cerakoted brushed aluminum due to buyer's remorse and wishing I'd gotten the bitone. It turned out great and the Cerakote has made it even smoother. But I ordered the 9c as a bitone with the new Trijicon factory night sights.

I'm still getting used to carrying again, but overall I'm very happy with my second choice.