Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
87 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
this is not another one of those which is better threads, rather a post of my findings and my experience with the two.

yesterday I took my brand new unfired xd(m) compact 40 out to my private range. I really just wanted to put a couple hundred fmj's down the pipe and get a feel for the new gun. well, after putting 100 rounds down the pipe I pulled out my Federal HST's (165gr & 180gr) and loaded one mag with 165's and the other with the 180's. I've been saving milk jugs for the past several months because I wanted to catch one of each to see the difference in expansion and test penetration

I test fired two of each and I know this is not very scientific nor accurate but here were my findings:

Federal HST 165gr:
* both shots landed in the 4th jug.
* increased muzzle flash.
* about 25% more snappy than the 180gr HST.

Federal HST 180gr:
* they either got stuck in the back of the 3rd jug or came to rest in the 3rd jug.
* expansion of the 180's were significantly greater than the 165's.
* softer shooting and less muzzle flash than the 165's.

I've done my fair share of reading up on ballistic tests. from what I have gathered, typically the heavier bullet should penetrate deeper. however, in my case this was not proven to be true. so why is it that the heavier bullet should penetrate more? I tend to think it should be the other way around assuming both bullets are of the same brand and caliber.

my reason for believing so is the heavier bullet is moving slower and should expand more thus slowing down faster.

looking at the 165gr bullets the petals are completely folded back against the core. the 180's on the other hand opened up wider but didn't push the petals back near as far as the 165's. holding both in your hand the 165gr bullets feel heavier and more solid, despite the 180gr expanding more.