Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, considering what happened last night (I'm only just getting over the nauseous feeling in my stomach...), I feel it is time to acquire one of those 'Evil' rifles while I still can. I have a reasonable selection of handguns (at least to fit my needs for now), but no real capability to reach out and touch something.

Of course the only problem is that I am a grad student, on a very limited budget (so while I would LOVE to go out and get a $2k+ tricked out AR, the extra money will be much better spent acquiring 30 rd mags and ammo). I have been thinking through some options (and lurking the AR and AK forums here some), and would like to hear some opinions from yall here:

Options:

AR variant: Proven, common, but not exactly inexpensive. Can be very accurate. Standard mounts for optics, ect. What is the lowest I could go to get a reasonable model?

AK variant: Also proven and common, and more affordable. Some less expensive models are not exactly the most reliable, I think I've heard? Do most models have standard (Picatinny) mounts for optics? Again, what price range will get me a decent model?

Ruger Mini-14 or 30: Hear some good and some bad, but more expensive than what I was expecting. Good accessory availability (I think?), and not quite so 'evil'.

Kel-Tec SU-16: I've had good luck with my PF9, and the company seems to be a quality outfit. My local gunshop has them (not sure which particular model) listed for ~500, which would be a nice price with some left over for mags and ammo. Takes AR mags, and the folding aspect is useful as well.

Are there any options that I am over looking? Thoughts?

·
Registered
2,757 Posts
AR variant: Proven, common, but not exactly inexpensive. Can be very accurate. Standard mounts for optics, ect. What is the lowest I could go to get a reasonable model?