Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to the shooting game and have found that all guns can not be dry fired. I did so with my Ruger. With my recent purchase of a 40 cal Xd I would like to do the same. So, can the Xd be dry fired?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Just don't sit there and dry fire it 200 times in a row... I don't like that you HAVE to dry fire it to take it down, nice that they changed it on the XDM but it really doesn't help me out...

·
Registered
5,617 Posts
Just don't sit there and dry fire it 200 times in a row... I don't like that you HAVE to dry fire it to take it down, nice that they changed it on the XDM but it really doesn't help me out...
Uhhh...why not? I've done that MANY times. If I'm bored, I'll throw on a good action movie (in my ammo-free room), grab the pistol I need some work with, and start shooting all the bad guys :cool:

Seriously, I've dry fired my older XD's thousands of times in a few months. No damage, not even the striker retainer pin.

·
Registered
665 Posts
As everyone else has said, dry firing is ok. Technically you could eventually break the firing pin due to shock, but I have yet to see that happen and I've dry fired my XD thousands of times.

·
Registered
1,380 Posts
Uhhh...why not? I've done that MANY times. If I'm bored, I'll throw on a good action movie (in my ammo-free room), grab the pistol I need some work with, and start shooting all the bad guys :cool:

Seriously, I've dry fired my older XD's thousands of times in a few months. No damage, not even the striker retainer pin.
I have done that with all my non-rim fire rifles. practice trigger control.

put a dime on your barrel and snap until you can snap and not loose the dime off the barrel

·
Registered
3,386 Posts
Dry firing the XD is fine, don't worry about it. It will teach you good trigger control, it's a great exercise.