Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,582 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey i'm still real new to all of this neat stuff, but what exactly does one of them don's guide rod/spring combo do?
is it just a reliable replacement part, or does it make the action tighter?
Also, what spring weight is best.....and what's the difference lol
i know i know im a newbie...sowwy
ive got an xd-40 4"
thanks

·
Registered
8,970 Posts
Matt,

By going with Don's Rod, you have the option of changing spring weights. As an example, your stock assembly is around 18 pounds. My experience has shown, validated by many others, that be going with a heavier spring, you lessen felt recoil and muzzle flip. The 22# spring is a good all-around weight, however guys are having great results with the 24# too.

I have Don's setup in all of my XDs.

Old School

·
Registered
4,183 Posts
yeah, i would get the Don's. In fact, I am new to the gun thing, got the Don's and its great. My next gun (ain't comin soon enough) will be an XD and will also have teh Don's (there is one for Subs right?)

·
Registered
4,183 Posts
boooooooooooooooooooo I have gotten to the point of not trusting the stock recoil spring assembly after my mishap.

·
Registered
4,183 Posts
This unfortunate insident: It left me at the range with a hot weapon that couldn't be decocked and unchambered. I had to fire the round out of it after this happened.

·
Registered
1,582 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
right on...that's what I was thinking it was for
I wasn't sure
Sometimes places sell just replacement parts for when somethin fails.....same as stock just new
now all i gotta do is figure out where i can find a flame thrower attachment! :mrgreen:

·
Registered
1,022 Posts
John, did you contact SA about that? What did they have to say? I think that qualifies as "catastrophic failure" and should get their attention.

·
Registered
2,534 Posts