Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been wearing the Don Hume H721 Open Top now for a several months, and this holster has exceeded my expectations. The application is CCW.

I've got a drawer full of holsters, and they are all more expensive than this one. But this one's working great for me because it is more comfortable and/or with less printing than the others. It keeps the grip against my ribs with just the right tension to be comfortable.

One concern I had in the beginning was how well it would hold the pistol over time. There are no screws for retention adjustment. I didn't trust it at first, but now trust it completely. Like many leather holsters, this holster came very tight, and now it has loosened some. However, the leather is stiffer than some of the other brands, so expansion is minimal.

Also, it has passes the playing football and trampoline test with flying colors. The pistol never budges. (Alright - you want to know what kind of crazy guy jumps on a trampoline carrying. Well, my kids beg me to jump on the trampoline with them, and I will not unpack unless I absolutely have to - like maybe swimming. :) )

The only issue with this holster is very minor. The leather squeaks when I move. Sometimes I think it's a bit conspicuous, like a fully loaded LEO with all those holsters. But no one seems to notice. And leather is nice.

Because it is very snug against my ribs, I doubt that it would be ideal for competition (IDPA and the like). Getting a grip takes extra effort compared to my other holsters.

Overall, this ones a keeper in my opinion:
http://www.donhume.com/Products/ProductsPage.cfm?ProductID=44

Oh - and no one at Don Hume paid me to write this glowing report. I'm just sharing my experience for everyone's benefit.

- Mike

·
Registered
17 Posts
I think you just made up my mind on a new OWB holster. It was between this and the Fist #9, and i really enjoy my other Don Hume holsters.