Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4,931 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This question pertains to my use of a laser cartridge for my dry firing.

I finally got to handle and dry fire a Hellcat. I noted that the trigger remains in the rear position until the action of the slide recocks the trigger as happens with a Glock.
With the Glock, at least the one Glock that I own, the firing pin appears to retract away from the primer after striking it.
With my Ruger SR9c, the trigger remains in the pulled position as well, but the striker does not pull back, at least to be flush with the breech face of the slide. This causes, on occasion, for the laser cartridge to remain on after the trigger is pulled.

So, does anyone know if after the striker has ignited the primer does it retract into the slide before the slide cycles back?

I am new to my area and I have not developed a "trusting" relationship with the local gunshop where I think they'd let me load up their pistol with my light cartridge for testing.
I could have done that at the previous shop I frequented, but that was back in California and they ain't ever going to see a Hellcat.

·
Registered
33 Posts
This causes, on occasion, for the laser cartridge to remain on after the trigger is pulled.
Some pistols have small springs in front of the striker to achieve that retraction. XD, XD-M calls it "striker dampening spring" - item #30 below.

Most of the guns though rely on gas pressure and mechanical recoil action to retract that pin. More or less, primmer dragging is the result of that pin not going back "in" fast enough.
My Hellcat and Sig P365 don't have that spring, but they work fine with my G-Sight laser.
Even if the the firing pin remains touching the laser rubber, that should not remain under so much pressure to keep the laser on.

Is the striker channel clean of gun powder residue and oil? Do you have a picture of a fired case to see if you have a lot of primer drag?

·
Registered