Springfield XD Forum banner

Do you shoot with both eyes open or one eye closed?

• both eyes open

• one eye closed

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I first started shooting I shot with one eye closed. When I took an NRA course it was recommended to shoot with both eyes open to be able to see your surroundings. I have been practicing focusing in on the sights and shooting with both eyes open and wanted to know what everyone else around here does.

·
Registered
208 Posts
i have shot with one eye open since i started shooting...i have been trying to get myself out of the habit. Hard to train for both eyes.

·
Banned
11,479 Posts
Scary!!!! Went shooting the other day and noticed my left eye was closing slightly and my right eye was opening some. Now what's a one eyed fatman doing that for? :shock:

·
Registered
688 Posts
I shoot with one eye closed. I am trying to learn to keep both eyes open. For my competition shooting it's the fastest way to aquire your next target. I fear I may be too old to learn any new tricks though.

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
bobert1 said:
I shoot with one eye closed. I am trying to learn to keep both eyes open. For my competition shooting it's the fastest way to aquire your next target. I fear I may be too old to learn any new tricks though.
I'm not an old dog (relatively speaking) but after shooting guns for still close to 15 years (I'm 22), the left eye closed is still the thing with me. Given either of us ever move to Open division, we have to force those eyeballs open eh Bob? :wink:

·
Registered
278 Posts
Can't seem to break the habit of closing my left eye. All that practice for rifle team made it pretty much subconscious.

·
Premium Member
248 Posts
Sub,

I also learned to shoot with both eyes open at the NRA class. It's amazing how much better I am shooting now. I didn't realize all I had to do was focus on the front sight to acquire my target.

·
Registered
381 Posts