Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
260 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My fired brass has dents in it about 1/4 inch from the case mouth and they're about 1/10 of an inch wide. The case is hitting something when being ejected. Is this something I need to worry about when reloading?

WyoBob

·
Registered
657 Posts
I’m not a pro or anything but I personally would not use a case with dents in them but that’s just me...

·
Registered
21 Posts
If there has been enough of an impact so as to distort the case you're looking at 2 scenarios - #1 (and the least troublesome) the case will stick in the chamber or #2 - the case could rupture or distort causinga catasstrophic failure. Chances are all you'll ever do is stick but brass is cheap when compared to replacing your weapon or something you're a little more attached too - such as hands, eyes, etc.

I haven't had my XD40 long enough to have started to reloading yet. One or two more range trips and I'll get on that. I love filling my own 9's. :)

I wonder if you're denting from hitting the slide or are you hitting the sides of the booth at the range :?: If I stand dead center they tend to ricochet off the divider panel. Move 6 inches over and I'm all good. If it's nailing the slide you may want to see about having the extractor tuned. An earlier/later release might be possible.

·
Registered
81 Posts
I was shooting at an outdoor range so the divider is out. I went back and looked at the spent case that came with my XD and it has the same dent as the ones from the range. Just curious, how do they tune the extractor for a earlier/later release?

·
Premium Member
3,955 Posts
Dings like that shouldn't hurt. Your sizing die will make the OD right for the chamber, and the dent isn't enough to reduce case volume. I've reloaded all kinds of horrible looking brass with no bad effects yet. But brass is cheap enough to get, so toss it if you have doubts.

·
Registered
21 Posts