Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys. . . I'm new to Springfield weaponry, and just bought a .45 XDs. I recently shot 50 rounds of +P 230 gr. Federal HST's and had one jam (I believe was my fault). That was the first defensive ammo I've shot through it.

My question is: is there a defensive ammo that should be AVOIDED with these guns?. . . .Ammo that just doesn't work well for whatever reason? I'll be trying some Winchester Ranger T next. --Rob

·
Registered
240 Posts
Give speer gold dots a try ....after hours of research this seems to be some of the best going.

·
Registered
3,279 Posts
JMHO, but HST standard pressure and Speer Gold Dots are probably the top two for penetration and expansion performance. See which one your particular pistol(s) like and stick with it. SGAmmo has them in the 50 round boxes for just a few bucks more than a 20 round box at the LGS. They are frequently OOS, so get on the notification list.

·
Registered
1,483 Posts
I'm not aware of any SD ammo that should be avoided in the XDs. Federal HST, Speer Gold Dot and Winchester Ranger T are all good choices if they run well in your particular gun.

·
Registered
340 Posts
The only ammo I've seen negative posts about on this forum would be the Hornady Critical Duty, Defense, and Zombie Maxx ammo.

Something about the bullet design seems to get caught up on the feed ramps with the XD-S.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I've been working up a defensive load using Speer Gold Dot bullets and have been shooting a lot of water jugs ;) I know the Gold Dots expand and even the cheapo WWB JHP's expand well. The only thing I've noticed is that the JHP's are more likely than FMJ to jam when chambering the first round if you aren't real aggressive racking the slide....fine when using the slide release.

·
Registered
117 Posts