Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the automotive aftermarket world for a living and for longevety we cryo-treat most everything.

I am new to the fourm and and the XD--40 I just bought.
In the first 2000 rounds I put through it I developed a problem with my
guide rod. I have since called SA and have a new one on the way, and also I will be ordering an upgraded rod and spring combo.

After I get the upgrades I was thinking of having the entire gun treated.

This process creates great strength increases in bolth tensil and compression of ANY material.

Have any of you heard of any one cryo-treating a gun?
This is just a thought I had to increase the XD's relighablity.

PLEASE telll me what you think of this idea
good...bad...otherwise
THANKS
Jp.

·
Registered
276 Posts
I am not aware of any barrel manufacturers that cyro treat their barrels as a standard practice. There are several rifle barrel manufacturers that offer cyro treatments as an option.

Pistol barrels as a general rule do not respond to cyro treatments in a measurable way. There maybe an increase in strength but if the barrel is made from a quality material to start with the is no advantage to counterbalance the cost. We use heat treated 416 stainless and in testing found no advantages in strength or accuracy as a result of cyro treating a pistol barrel.

Rifle barrels will sometimes show an increase in repeatable accuracy after cryo treating. This is believed to be the result of more uniform grain structure in the metal producing more uniform harmonic flexing when the bullet is still in the barrel. Properly fluting the barrel will also show this accuracy improvement. Because of the relative short length of a pistol barrel the benefits rarely are measurable.