Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,
I've been away from the board for awhile, then came back and discovered there have been some issues with cracked locking blocks. I took a look at my xd-9 4", bi-tone, and sure enough, 2 fine, but very long fissures are present. Each fissure runs the length of the block. :shock:

I have some good pics of the cracks I took today, but have no way of hosting them myself. I'll be happy to email them to any generous soul who would like to post them, just let me know...

I'll do a search, but in the meantime, what is the procedure for getting my pistol to Springfield for a fix?

Thanks in advance,
IBCGUY

·
Registered
4,183 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,751 Posts
Call SA and they will tell you what to do to get it to them. Post the pics first if possible so we can seeeee!
Happy Shooting.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
ok, bear with me as this is my first time posting pics on the web...this may take some trial and error :oops:

First, some pics of the left side:

and the right side:

So, what's up with these cracks!? :shock:

·
Registered
1,721 Posts
I do not think those are cracks in you locking block.
If they are cracks I think your locking block would have completely failed by now.

Just imperfections in the metal.

·
Registered
1,329 Posts
It does look pretty odd though.
Are ALL of the locking block cracks on .40 Service and Tacs?
Are there some 9mm ones that have cracked as well.
I can't recall seeing any posts about SC's cracking yet..have I missed some?

·
Registered
23 Posts
i second that...the pictures don't show it being a stress fracture. I think it is more of a manufactured imperfection. Just show the pics to SA and see what they have to say.

·
Registered
1,721 Posts
my XD SC 9mm has 25,000 rounds fired down the barrel and I have had ZERO issues with the gun, no cracks.

Methinks this is the new "rust" problem.

·
Registered
219 Posts