Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just brought home a new XDm Compact 3.8" 9mm, and I noticed a couple of things that don't quite look right. I'm an XD noob, so please bare with me if I'm just paranoid.

First, when the slide is closed, the front disc of the captive recoil spring assembly protrudes from the front face of the gun about 1-2mm. I expected it to be flush
Photography

Second, when a round is chambered, I can see the casing between the back of the barrel and the slide on the right hand side of the gun. Is it normal to have a gap like this between the barrel and the slide?
Yellow Material property Technology Photography Electronics

Are these normal, or am I just paranoid? Thanks.

·
Registered
130 Posts
Good question. I also got my XDm 3.8 compact 9mm recently and still learning. So your post sent me to my gun room to check it out. Yes front disc of the captive recoil spring assembly protrudes from the front face of the gun about 1-2mm. And when the handgun is in battery I can see a part of the chambered round.

This must be normal. I did a range trip this week and feed my handgun almost 200 rounds without a hitch. No jams and very accurate. Including very old reloads! It held black at 25 yards once I got used to the striker fired system.

I think we're OK. But I must compliment you on being very observant.

·
Registered
7,272 Posts
Its normal. These are built alittle loose because they are "combat" pistols. I asked the same question when I was new here.

Thumper may come along, he can explain it better than I can.

·
Registered
1,409 Posts
You can see the brass casing because it serves as a visual loaded chamber indicator. This is so you do not have to press check your weapon to see if you have a round in the chamber.