Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
127,781 Posts
If the Commonwealth of Virginia recognizes the validity of online "certification", and they may, then shame on them. I am an NRA Certified Pistol Instructor who conducts CCW classes once or twice a month. According to the laws of Ohio that instruction must involve at least 10 hours of class time with a passing score on the exam and 2 hours of range time. To pass our range test the shooter has to score at least 80 percent hits within a 9 inch circle at distances of 7, 14, and 21 feet. Although a minority, some students can and do fail the class. Personally, I want nothing to do with putting people on the street who are not competent in the safe and effective use of handguns.

·
Registered
693 Posts
I dunno it seems a bit over the top. All you have to do in VA is take a safety course and fire 25 rounds safely. Watching streaming video? and then a multiple choice test? Seems cheesy. I'd rather just have an NRA instructor talk to me (us). If you're in Norfolk go to Bob's Gun Shop. Or Superior Pawn and Gun in either Va Beach or Norfolk. You'll like it better I think.

·
Registered
1,309 Posts
I dunno it seems a bit over the top. All you have to do in VA is take a safety course and fire 25 rounds safely. Watching streaming video? and then a multiple choice test? Seems cheesy. I'd rather just have an NRA instructor talk to me (us). If you're in Norfolk go to Bob's Gun Shop. Or Superior Pawn and Gun in either Va Beach or Norfolk. You'll like it better I think.
That's where I did mine, at Bob's. Pretty good class. Cheap and easy compared to TN's requirements.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Legit, I grew up around guns and don't have my weekends open to take a class so I took it online and the courts accepted it. I got my CCW about three weeks later.

·
Registered
3,510 Posts