Springfield XD Forum banner

Best Entry-Level Match Practical Shooting Discipline?

• USPSA/IPSC

• IDPA

• Steel Challenge

• Non-Sanctioned, Club-Level Action Shooting

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
570 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to handgun shooting, but am diving in head-first into match shooting. I am taking a couple pistol courses locally, and am looking forward to competing in my first match as Novice in a few weeks. I have scoured the local club sites and filled my Google Calendar with match events. There's quite a variety of matches around here, from USPSA/IPSC, IDPA, and non-sanctioned action shoots, to Steel Challenge matches. These are being held at several clubs from Tampa Bay to Jacksonville.

I want to ask the experienced FL competition shooters out there, which match and which club should I start with? Who/what is most friendly to a new match shooter? I'm got enough brains to know not to show up at a state championship, but all the websites say they accept new shooters, just come and pay. I've also got enough brains to know that some are better than others to actually start with. What I don't know is the word on the street.

Lastly, which division should I start with? USPSA or IDPA-style? I bought a handgun to match shoot with (stock XDm 9mm 4.5), not carry concealed. However, I can appreciate the training and skills you learn while practicing defensive shooting. I do have my weapon also as a home defense tool, so any practical skills I can get will help.

I'm lucky to be located near Gainesville, FL, so I'm practically smack dab in the middle of the action here. Most matches are within a 1.5 hour drive away. So, hope to meet some of you guys on the range!

Thanks,
Erich

·
Registered
210 Posts