Springfield XD Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. Im fairly new to the springfield brand, and recently purchased a springfield xdm 45 compact. I read a lot online about these different methods to color fill a gun, and i figured the crayon method was the easiest and most accessible. I did it, it worked, but the quality didnt seem to be good enough with the color i wanted. So, i went to michaels and picked up some testors fluorescent green paint (I want this to be a "zombie" themed gun). I painted on 2 coats, let it dry, and then removed the excess with mineral spirits. Honestly, IT LOOKS GREAT!!! Its as if this was factory done. Any thoughts, comments or questions?

The logo on the mag is currently drying. Pics later

·
Registered
63 Posts
So what'd you do, just paint the area, then clean it off with mineral spirits? No razor blade or scrapping? I gotta try this if it's that easy.

Oath Keeper

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So what'd you do, just paint the area, then clean it off with mineral spirits? No razor blade or scrapping? I gotta try this if it's that easy.

Oath Keeper
Yes. Heres what to do:

Materials: rubbing alcohol, mineral spirits, testors enamel paint (about 50 colors to choose from), testors paint thinner, fairly small paint brush, old shirt or makeup remover pads

1. Clean area with rubbing alcohol and let dry
2. Add a small bit of thinner to the paint to give it more liquidity and shake well
3. Dip the brush tip in the paint to get a drop on it and touch it to the engraving. The liquid will fill the area. Brush the rest on. Do not do a heavy coat. The more you use the harder it is to remove
4. Let the first coat dry for 15-20 minutes. Some people do only one coat. I did two just for longevity. If youd like to do two, brush on another light coat.