Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK I am a noob to handguns. I have cleaned mine with remington lub/cleaner all in one.... with a BORE SNAKE and clothes on the outside.

Can someone post a VIDEO on cleaning their XDM. What to look for, best cleaning supplies, etc. Also complete dismantling of the pieces to clean (i know most of the XDM is easy)

I think if someone does post a very good video that it should be STICKIED.

Thanks

·
Registered
233 Posts
I cannot do a video,or keeper post, but I can tell you a few tricks from experience . Clean inside the barrel and around and behind the extractor claw with Hopps #9 . Spray the frame and slide out with wd40 in the inside areas with the red wd tube. Get (odorless) mineral spirits and a container big enough to submerge the frame and slide . Shake around in the solution to degrease and rid the frame of pieces of factory plastic you will see come out from the inside of the frame and also gets gunk out of the slide striker area of the slide..
You can dry with a hair dryer or air dry. Lube the pistol VERY - lightly with just a couple drops where needed , and the outside of the barrel. I use FP10. De-grease and clean the mags and just lube the springs lightly only. These pistols do not like alot of lube so some lube on a q-tip on parts work. Normal cleaning after a range trip is wipe off the frame , clean the barrel and extractor. After 500 rds I usually do the above detailed cleaning. Everyone has their own system and should do what works best for them.

·
Registered
463 Posts
Go to the Springfield XDm website and you will find a Rob Leatham video on how to clean your XDm.

·
Registered
125 Posts