Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What exactly do you clean and lube other than the barrel and slide? Ive been told that you dont want the firing pin and pretty much everything in the back of the slide oiled. The guy said you want it bone dry..is this true? If you do clean the metal parts in the frame how do you make sure their oiled good...what im saying is after you use cleaner on the metal parts and it runs down into tight spaces and you go to oil it how can you be sure its oiled properly? Sorry for all the questions...im a newb. Thanks!

·
Registered
9,951 Posts
On the slide oil the rails, the underside of the slide where the barrel hood moves, the circle where the barrel comes out. Then I use an aerosol can of either rem oil or Eezox and mist the whole under side of the slide, not to much just enough not to have any rusting. Take a lint free rag and lightly wipe it out. Then I mist the outside of the whole slide, again wiping down. I would not loose sleep for over oiling just since I would recomend after every 1000 rounds to detail strip for a good cleaning out, you will be amazed what you find. I have the deatil disassembly posted at
http://www.xd-hs2000.com/disassembly/disassembly.html

You will get more gunk from using a cleaner and a toothbrush then just lightly oiling. Using something like hoppes will allow the residue to enter the cracks of the striker safety and under the extractor.

·
Registered
347 Posts