Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie when it comes to guns. I've shot before but never owned one. I actually had my interest on a Glock 19 after shooting them at a range up until a worker recommended me to try a few other guns - a sig P239, mp shield, and finally an XD9. And boy what a difference. They are all good guns btw. The glock was almost perfect but the grip / handle part was a bit too wide for my small hands. The XD9, on the other hand, was just immaculate and i felt like i shot better with it. Well, if it wasn't because of the worker, i would have been on a glock forum instead. But i know i made the right move! So just got myself an XD 9mm last wk. Also, bought 500 rds of ammo.. I'm ready to break this baby in! :lol:

Anyway, so while waiting for my 10 days to get my gun, i've researched on how to clean it and a bit overwhelmed by what i've read on forums and watched on YouTube. In short, not sure what solvent combo or clp would do the job. Seems that there is not a whole lot of wrong you can do with the solvent you use as long as you clean them. So i bought Ballistol and Hoppes 9 on Amazon. And when i was at Big 5, I saw an Mpro7 cleaning kit that was half off and bought it. For $12, i thought its worth a shot. The kit comes with all the brushes, the rod, as well as the Mpro-7 cleaner and their Mpro-7 LPX. Now that I've got myself 4 different cleaners, not sure what would be the best to use on what part of the gun. Initially, i was thinking of Hoppes 9 for the bore and Ballistol on everything else. Now that i've got the Mpro-7, maybe use the LPX as a final lube? I'm not even sure if mixing those 3 is a good idea. Let me know what you guys think or suggest. Any help is much appreciated..

·
Registered
20 Posts
I had an XD Tactical in 45 for years many thousand rounds through it. Used Hoppes #9 and Tetra grease on it. I plan on doing the same with my new XDs 9.