Springfield XD Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to reloading and I love it! The only problem is that buying all the equipment (Dillon XL-650) cleaned my wallet out for a while. :wink: I dont have a case tumbler yet and was wondering if it was ok to clean cases by hand. If so, whats the best way to get me buy until I purchase a tumbler? Thanks a lot guys!

·
Registered
141 Posts
i think iosso makes a liquid that works just wear your rubber gloves i dont like it my self just dont do anything till ya get a tumbler save the hassle

·
Premium Member
16,428 Posts
Try bucket with hot water, dish soap, and a little vinegar drop your cases in mix them up for about 5 to 10 min. then rinse.

·
Registered
2,637 Posts
one-eyed-fatman said:
A trimmer would be more important than a tumbler for starters. Don't let your cases stretch beyound the max or you will run into trouble.
In my experience, rifle cases need to be trimmed. Except for some pretty hot .44 Mag loads, I have never trimmed pistol cases. Even after 10 or more reloads in 9mm and .40 S&W, cases have never stretched to max OAL. IMHO, a tumbler would be more useful than a case trimmer--IF RELOADING PISTOL CALIBERS!!

·
Registered
2,534 Posts
I've used a couple cheap tumbler alternatives. 1) Rock Tumbler - if they knew they could be used to tumble brass, they'd call it a brass tumbler and charge twice as much. Just fill it with brass tumbling media, run it a bit and you're set. 2) A can or container hooked up to the shaft of a small electric motor. Sure, it's ghetto, but man does it work. Plus, you can build as big a tumbler as you want or need. There's one at my grandfathers house that we made, and you could tumble 250 cases at once in there if you wanted to.

·
Registered
10,955 Posts